Historical Society of St. Catharines

Celebrating the history of St. Catharines and its vicinity

Archive for January, 2010

Programs for Winter 2010

Posted by dsharron on January 5, 2010

Happy New Year from the Historical Society of St. Catharines.  We hope to see you out at many of our meetings this year.

Meetings in the Winter 2009 – 7:30 p.m. – all held at the St. Catharines Museum at Lock 3, 1932 Welland Canal Parkway, St. Catharines, Ontario. Free admission.  Doors open at 7:00.  Guests are welcome.

January 28 – ” Cholera Reaches Niagara 1832″ by Elizabeth Finnie – Society Secretary.  With all of the pandemic talk these past few months, this is a timely look at a serious outbreak in Niagara over 170 years ago.

February 25 – “Charting the Great Swivel Link – Maps of the First Welland Canal” by Alun Hughes – Society Member.  What better way to explore the history of the early Welland Canal than through a look over the maps of this important system by Brock University’s resident cartography expert and local historian.  

March 25 – “History of St. John’s Anglican Church in Port Dalhousie” by Brian Leyton – Society Member – Come out and learn about the heritage of this well established church, its congregation and its connection to the community in this “fire-side” style presentation.   

For further information on Society gatherings, click on “Special Events”.  Check back often for future presentations.

* Note: the St. Catharines Museum will generously open its traveling exhibit gallery for viewing a half hour before each meeting at no cost to the Society.

Advertisements

Posted in Churches, Historical Society, Meetings, Port Dalhousie, St. Catharines, Welland Canal | Leave a Comment »